52 Ancestors: #1 – Elsie Marcella HACKATHORN – A New Year Baby. A new year, baby!

For those of you who may have stumbled upon this blog thinking that you were going to be reading about Albert Einstein, or physics theories, or anything along those lines – you might want to just click away from this page. I am using more than a bit of Artistic License with the title. This blog is born from the brainchild of Amy Johnson Crow over at www.nostorytoosmall.com who ran a 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks challenge in 2014. Sadly, I missed out on that one. This then, is me stepping up to the challenge for 2015. I can’t think of a better place to start than with my grandmother, Elsie Marcella HACKATHORN.

Jane Wyckoff and Elsie Hackathorn, circa 1909
My grandmother, Elsie HACKATHORN, with her grandmother, Jane WYCKOFF.

Elsie is my maternal grandmother, born on the first day of January, 1908 in Bergholz, a little coal-mining town in east central Ohio. It was the first year ever that the ball that signifies a new year was dropped at Times Square in New York City, the American flag only had 45 stars, Theodore Roosevelt was President, and the horseless carriage was just starting to catch on. She married David MOORE in 1923 in Wellsburg, WV. She told me once that she was really happy to have lived in the time that she did because when she was born “there were hardly any cars and now you can go to the moon and back”.

When people remember Grandma, they usually always mention that she was always smiling. When I remember her, I remember sitting knee-to-knee with her while she taught me to knit and crochet. She was left-handed, I was not, and it was like learning in a mirror. She made her own patterns for the dresses that she sewed for herself, made patchwork quilts, worked crossword puzzles, and read. But, most importantly, she liked to talk about family long gone. She wasn’t the hug you, bake you cookies, and fuss over you kind of grandmother, she was the talk to you like a person kind of grandmother and that’s what I liked about her.

I could write page upon page about Grandma, but the point in introducing her now is to give her credit for my own interest in our family’s history and in genealogy. When you’re younger, you believe that you’re going to remember everything about a story. How sad it is when you realize that you should have written down or tape recorded those conversations because they fade and disappear with time. And then they’re just…gone.

The same is true of people. If there is nothing written down, no photographs, nothing to jog the memory then they, too, fade from memory and disappear. I wish that my grandmother was still with us, especially with DNA testing. She would be so very interested! I could also tell her about how far I’ve come in tracking down some elusive ancestors lately and she would be delighted.

And, so…this year, this blog, I’m dedicating to you Granny.

Elsie and Hollie
Grandma and me in 2001.

http://www.nostorytoosmall.com/posts/category/52-ancestors-challenge/

Lineage Notecard

Name: Elsie Marcella Hackathorn

Parents: Thomas John Hackathorn and Florence D. Paisley

Spouse: David Moore

Surnames: HACKATHORN, PAISLEY, MOORE, SCHRADER

Relationship to Hollie: grandmother

  1. Elsie Marcella Hackathorn
  2. Darlene Lois Moore
  3. Hollie Ann Schrader

24 Replies to “52 Ancestors: #1 – Elsie Marcella HACKATHORN – A New Year Baby. A new year, baby!”

    1. Thanks, again, Michael. I certainly hope that I can live up to this challenge. It makes me quite crazy not to be able to find information to answer my questions and to confirm (or disprove) my theories. 🙂 If nothing else, I’ll be able to identify where I need the most work done in my tree!

      Like

  1. Wonderful writing! I can’t wait to read more, Hollie. I don’t think I ever met Elsie. She was my grandfather Shorty’s beloved sister. I may have been held by her when I was in my early infancy, since I was in Ohio for my first nine months of life. Thanks for this introduction to her!

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed your intro…Realitivity…and the inclusion of the historical events at the time of Elsie’s birth which is historically significant in itself. Your story telling in this post is so personable and interesting a read. I imagine your grandmother is quite pleased with her special way of ‘hugging’ you with family history, needleworks and talk. Sometimes, we grandmothers have a 6th sense about our grandchildren. You were fortunate to have been blessed with those special hugs.

    Visiting from 52 Ancestors recap post. Here are links to my blog and this weeks post.
    Sue at Tracks Of My Georgia Ancestors
    52 Ancestors#1Firsts and Fresh Starts

    Like

  3. What a great name for your blog! And, I LOVE your first post! It was very touching! I also loved that you helped us to understand the time with who was president and your grandmother’s comment about cars.

    You’re a great storyteller & I look forward to reading more of your posts. I’m sure your grandma would be proud of how you are recording your family’s stories!

    Like

  4. Thank for following Shaking the Tree, and introducing me to your blog. All the best on your journey in sharing your research and strories. I look forward to reading more. Cheers, Su.

    Like

  5. I like your blog name a lot and totally get the “artistic license.” Very clever. Loved reading about your relationship with your Grandma. Sitting knee-to-knee learning how to knit and crochet. Splendid memory. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It is so true that writing everything down can later mean so much. I think we often live an amazing tale but it is not until we look back on it and reflect that we realize how beautiful and important the story is! It is often when relatives have passed on too that we realize the significance of their stories and experience and how much is truly lost! I miss my grandma and all she held within! Lovely blog 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog! My grandmother was 50 when I was born, so she seemed “old” to me my whole life. I think that it’s different when you watch someone age, knowing that they won’t be around at some point, as compared to someone who has already aged and you (at least I did) expect them to be around forever. I miss my grandmother most every day, she was the glue that held the family together. I’m very happy that my children had the opportunity to know her.

      Like

Leave a comment

Frisia Coast Trail

The 1,000 mile coastal hike for people with fear of heights and interest in 2,500 years of living on the sharp edge of land and sea

The Legal Genealogist

Genealogy, the law and so much more

ResearchBuzz

News and resources covering social media, search engines, databases, archives, and other such information collections. Since 1998.

Brotmanblog: A Family Journey

Adventures in Genealogy

Piedmont Trails

Genealogy and History in North Carolina and Beyond

Decluttering the Stuff

Decluttering the Stuff to Live a Decluttered Life

The Hipster Historian

Making genealogy more intersectional and accessible to all

Musings of a Frequent Flying Scientist

musings of a frequent flying scientist

1,465 Or Bust

Exploring Ohio History One Marker At A Time

The Bar Method Lifestyle

Be Strong. Be Nourished. Be Mindful. Be Beautiful.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Mountain Mama Reads and Writes

Reading and Writing about Appalachia

Steven E. Wedel

Revealing humanity, one story at a time

FROM THE LAUNDRY ROOM

Sorting it out one load at a time

conTIMplations

by Tim Nichols

Who were they? 52 ancestors in 52 weeks

About the Woods, Gaffney, Diggins and Marshall families